Bloomberg Demo - Failed to add New Positions

Hi all,

I am new to OpenGamma and hope you don’t mind if my question is too simple. I downloaded the demo src on my linux machine which is fed with Bloomberg data. I successfully compiled the src (yet there were a few error-like messages) and successfully loaded data into the given sample portfolios from Bloomberg feed. I used my web browser to see “localhost:8080” … everything looks fine. Then, I tried to add a bond position (which is not in any of the sample portfolios) by specifying its ISIN but there is an error message telling me that

“Status: 404 Not Found; Mesage: Unable to resolve security: ****”

I tried to add a position using “AAPL US” and it worked. Seems like adding positions of security that is not in the sample portfolio did not work. Is it because it is a demo version?

Thanks.
lamjob

It’s possible that the bond you were trying to load was not supported by out bond loader. If your setup correctly identified being connected to a Bloomberg terminal, then it should have created a range of securities with BLOOMBERG_TICKER identifiers. Are you seeing those? You can check by hovering over a position in the Analytics grid, dropping down the preview window and clicking the security link. If the identifiers section shows ids with OG_SYNTHETIC_TICKER then your installation didn’t detect your Bloomberg connection, which is why you can’t load additional securities. If it does show BLOOMBERG_TICKER, then it’s probably because the bond in question is not supported by out bond loader. If that’s the case, post the ISIN and I’ll look into it.

Hi Jim,