Issues while building OG (Master)

Hi all,

I did a checkout from master branch of OG and tried building it using ant build command from the root directory.
I am facing issues this issue while compiling OG-Language module - https://gist.github.com/2935866

How can i solve this issue and move forward. Was there something i missed ?

~Shyam

I’m sorry that you’ve had difficulty building our system. Please can you confirm the version of ant that you are using.

Andrew.

~$ ant -v
Apache Ant version 1.8.1 compiled on October 13 2010

It looks like the basedir property is not having the expected value when the subant task from projects/OG-Language invokes the build.xml in projects/OG-Language/Service. I had hoped this might have been due to different versions of ant but downgrading to a 1.8.1 build did not reproduce the problem.

I’ve asked one of the other OpenGamma developers to investigate further.

A temporary workaround until we can resolve this may be for you to edit the import directive in projects/OG-Language/Service/build.xml to read {basedir}/build-core-cpp.xml instead of {basedir}/…/build-core-cpp.xml

@andrew - Dude thanks for the quick reply.
I tried your fix but again , the same issue came up with another build.xml inside OG-language.
So i coped build-core-cpp.xml to projects folder and things went fine.

I have few other questions too.

When i give a ant jetty-debug in OG-Example , it is taking a huge time for the JAR’s to be resolved , copied to lib folder and then start the platform.
Few questions here

1. Cant we separate , jetty-debug target from resolve target. This way , we might need ant resolve once if there is a dependency change but it saves a lot of time. Its kinda frustrating when it take so much time just to see a tiny code change in action. Or at-least cant ant intelligently see that there are dependent jar files in lib and then decide to resolve the dependency or not.