Accrued Interest for Bonds

I am new to OG. Can someone please guide me to the API for calculating accrued interest on bonds. I have the specifics such as settle date, day count , coupon, previous payment date. Wondering if there is a way in OG to calculate how much accrued is due at the time of the transaction.

Hi

Currently we can only calculate accrued interest for interest rates swaps. I’ve raised a ticket to add support for bonds:

https://github.com/OpenGamma/Strata/issues/1331

Regards
Chris

Hi

Good news! I was wrong, we do have support for accrued interest on bonds, but only on our lower-level pricer API:

LocalDate settlementDate = LocalDate.of(...);
FixedCouponBond bond = ...; // create the bond
ResolvedFixedCouponBond resolvedBond = bond.resolve(ReferenceData.standard());
double accruedInterest = DiscountingFixedCouponBondProductPricer.DEFAULT.accruedInterest(resolvedBond, settlementDate);

It is also worth looking at the test case for this code:

DiscountingFixedCouponBondProductPricerTest.test_accruedInterest

Regards
Chris

Thanks for the prompt response. I am quite excited to try this out. Sick of dealing with Fincads and Numerixes of the world. Our use case is C# -> Java. I believe there was some github project for the OG platfor that allowed seamless integration of C# with .NET but seems there is no such thing for Strata yet.

Can you tell me what is the best practice to find Strata documentation ? Do i go to http://strata.opengamma.io/apidocs/ and start searching ? To be specific, how would i have know to find this accrued interest function ? Additionally, there are 100s of APIs in this apidocs link. Is there some overarching documentation that gives the documentation some structure.

The best place to start is the product coverage page:

http://strata.opengamma.io/product_coverage/

The “Asset class” column contains links for some asset classes leading to detailed documentation.