Report Preparation - Who designs the reports?

I’m still making my way through the documentation and code so please excuse me if I’ve missed something obvious.

My background is running a Risk system which does batch EOD reports. These are usually run once a day and the definition doesn’t change much.

So the users can see these reports the IT support staff need to do various things. We need to make sure that the securities/portfolios/historical time series/etc are fed into the system. This is reasonably straight forward from the existing documentation. I can see from the Java how I might create loaders and integrate with other data masters.

Now “reports” are “Views” in OG terminology. The whole process of running a view involves a “View Processor” (http://docs.opengamma.com/display/DOC/Views+and+Results ) which takes a “View Definition” and prepares the data specified.

I’m used to a system where the “View Definition” is created by users - the Risk Managers - through a web based UI. However I can’t see anything similar in OG.

In OG “They [ViewDefinitions] also can be created on-the-fly, programmatically, through the OpenGamma Tools for Microsoft Excel, or through OpenGamma’s R integration.”

I’m not keen on using Excel for defining reports - though I see how you might want to use it for one off reports. I don’t know anything about “R”.

So what options are left for users to create report/view definitions?

If users can’t, how do developers or other IT persons?

Cheers

Alex McLintock

Hi, sorry we missed replying to this one.

The short answer is that we are working on a better web based UI. This includes view definition editing. You may be able to see it from a recent git checkout at url /jax/bundles/fm/prototype/index.ftl#/configs/ (liable to change)

Obviously, view definitions can also be created using Java code, simply by creating and populating the ViewDefinition class.

Hi, Alex,